Logo strony

The Universidad de La Laguna

The Universidad de La Laguna (ULL) is the oldest institution of higher education in the Canary Islands, and its history can be traced over than 200 years back. Its founding decree, signed by King Charles IV of Spain, is dated the 11th March 1792. Since that date, it has undergone changes and been known by different names until finally being given its current name in 1913.

Two hundred years after it was founded, the Universidad de La Laguna continues to be a beacon for society in the Canary Islands that, using the Atlantic as a bridge, has stretched out its hand to the rest of the world. Currently, this public institution is home to more than 25,000 individuals who are either students, academic or research staff, or administrative staff and service personnel.

The university’s course catalogue includes: 45 undergraduate degrees; 21 official graduate courses in the process of being phased out and 30 official master’s degrees; 52 doctoral programs; and 25 master’s degrees unique to this university. In addition, 17,813 students are currently enrolled in degrees, and 2918 in courses in the process of being phased out.

The ULL is now undergoing internal restructuring to revamp its offerings. It has placed particular emphasis on the use of new information and communication technologies and telematics programs throughout the institution. All the activities run under this initiative are centrally controlled by Virtual Teaching Unit (Unidad de Docencia Virtual).

The geographical position of the Canary Islands in the Atlantic region places them between three continents, which means that, from a strategic point of view, the universities located on the islands are well placed to become important hubs of reference and flagships of knowledge and learning in the Atlantic.